Boys Basketball

Coaching Staff

Kyle Phifer     
Head Coach
Albert Cager
JV Coach
Marcus Mitchusson  
JV 2 Coach

Communication

Email, Team App, Remind 101

We will use email, Team App and Remind 101 to communicate with players and parents. The team app is created to make communication simple for all involved. It’s a free app the you can download on your phone. Once you download it and make a profile, we will be under Anna Basketball. You will receive notifications on important news and I will post holiday schedules and other events on it. To download team you can go to teamapp.com to sign up or you can down load the app on your phone. We have also created a class under remind 101. To join our class go to rmd.at/annaba to sign up. If you don’t have a smart phone text the message @annaba to the number 81010. If I don’t have your email please send me an email at Timothy.Phifer@annaisd.org.

General Basketball Information

Anna looks to continue to build on seasons that saw the Coyotes go 53-14 .  The Coyotes return four varsity players and  a group of  strong JV players that were apart of a 19-9 JV  season. 

Important Dates:
Aug 22--First day of initial athletic period acceptance window.  This is for those wishing to tryout who do not participate in football
Aug 26--End of initial acceptance period (off season fall basketball determined)
Oct 26--Start of regular season
Nov 5--First eligible day for scrimmage
Nov 15--First eligible day for games

Football players will join basketball the day after their last football game.  At that time tryouts and roster decisions will be made. 

Website

Check out the AHS Basketball website!

AHS Hoops

Practice

All practices are mandatory.  Make up work will be issued for any absences of mandatory workouts, regardless of reason. Only reasons to miss a workout are emergency or extreme illness.  The coaching staff will determine if any absences are permissible.

For planning purposes players/parents should expect to have practice or games everyday Monday-Saturday between Oct 28th and the end of the season (any holiday exceptions below).  There will never be organized team activities on Sundays.  

Thanksgiving week schedule:
MONDAY NOV 23--game @ Eaton HS
TUESDAY NOV 24--game vs Denison 
WEDNESDAY NOV 25--off
THURSDAY NOV 26--off
FRIDAY NOV 27--off
SATURDAY NOV 28--pm practice

Winter break schedule:
FRIDAY DECEMBER 16--Practice after school (Time TBD)
SATURDAY DECEMBER 17--Game vs. Lake Worth
MONDAY DECEMBER 19 --AM practice
TUESDAY DECEMBER 20--Game vs. VA
WEDNESDAY DECEMBER 21--off
THURSDAY DECEMBER 22--off
FRIDAY DECEMBER 23--off
SATURDAY DECEMBER 24-off
SUNDAY DECEMBER 25-off
MONDAY DECEMBER 26--OFF
TUESDAY DECEMBER 27---AM practice for all HS Teams

MORE CONCRETE PRACTICE TIMES WILL BE COMMUNICATED AS THEY ARE DETERMINED

16-17 Schedule

Anna Coyotes
Boys' Basketball 2016-2017
Date Opponent Site 9/JV2 JV1 V
Tuesday, Nov 8 Scrimmage - Frisco Independence Away TBD TBD TBD
Saturday, Nov 12 @ Reedy (Reedy,Whitewright, Eaton ) Away 10:00 AM 10:00 AM 10:00 AM
Thursday, Nov 17 Tom Bean JV Tournament Away TBD x x
Friday, Nov 18 Faith Family Academy Home 5:00PM 6:00PM 7:30PM
Saturday, Nov 19 Tom Bean JV Tournament Away TBD x x
Monday, Nov 21 Eaton (northwest isd) HOME 11:30AM 12:45PM 2:00PM
Tuesday, Nov 22 @ Denison Away 2:00PM 3:15PM 4:30PM
Tuesday, Nov 29 @ Sherman Away 4:30PM 6:00 PM 6:00PM
Thur-Sat, Dec 1-3 @ Royce City VarsityTournament Away x x TBD
Thur-Sat Dec 1-3 @ Royce City JV Tournament Away x TBD x
Thur-Sat, Dec 8-10 Anna Coyote Classic HOME TBD TBD TBD
Tuesday, Dec 13 @ Frisco Heritage Away 4:45PM 6:00PM 7:15PM
Saturday, Dec 17 Lake Worth HOME 12:00PM 1:15PM 2:30PM
Tuesday Dec 20 @ Van Alstyne Away Noon 1:15PM 2:30PM
Wed-Friday Dec 28-30 @ Leonard Varsity Tournament Away x x TBD
Wed-Friday Dec 28-30 @ Colleyville Heritage 9/JV tournament Away TBD TBD x
Tuesday, Jan 3 Krum HOME 5:00 PM 6:15 PM 7:30 PM
Monday, Jan 9 Sanger HOME 5:00 PM 6:15 PM 7:30 PM
Friday, Jan 13 @ Aubrey* Away 6:15 PM 5:00 PM 7:30 PM
Tuesday, Jan 17 @ Bonham* Away 6:15PM 5:00 PM 7:30PM
Friday, Jan 20 Melissa* HOME 6:15 PM 5:00 PM 7:30PM
Tuesday, Jan 24 Princeton* HOME 6:15 PM 5:00 PM 7:30PM
Friday, Jan 27 @ Celina* Away 6:15PM 5:00 PM 7:30PM
Tuesday, Jan 31 Aubrey (Teacher Appreciation)* HOME 6:15 PM 5:00 PM 7:30PM
Friday, Feb 3 Bonham* HOME 6:15 PM 5:00 PM 7:30PM
Tuesday, Feb 7 @ Melissa* Away 6:15 PM 5:00 PM 7:30PM
Friday, Feb 10 @ Princeton* Away 5:00 PM 6:15 PM 7:30 PM
Tuesday, Feb 14 Celina (SR)* HOME 5:00 PM 6:15 PM 7:30 PM
Feb. 20-21 Bi-district
Feb 23-25 Area
Feb 26-28 Reg. Semi's
Mar. 1-3 Regional Tournament
Superintendent: Pete Slaughter Head Coach: Kyle Phifer * District Games
Principal: Gerald Springer Asst coaches: Albert Cager
Athletic Director: Jason Heath Marcus Mitchusson
Gym Coordinator: Grant Bergman Jacob Smith
Head Trainer: Terry Miller Brad Walker
Athletic Secretary: Jo Fanning Curtis Hightower