Skip To Main Content


State Required Assessments


The Student Assessment Division of the Texas Education Agency manages and oversees the development, administration, scoring, and analysis of the Texas assessment program, which includes the following assessments:

STAAR Spanish 
STAAR Alternate 2  


Students are required to take 5 STAAR EOC (End of Course) exams and meet the satisfactory level of achievement on each exam in order to meet the state requirements for graduation. The number of exams was lowered from 15 to 5 in June 2013 with the passing of House Bill 5. Students may continue to take the STAAR EOC until they meet the passing standard.

The five STAAR EOC exams are listed below:

Algebra I
English I
English II
U.S. History


TEA designed the Texas English Language Proficiency Assessment System (TELPAS) and TELPAS Alternate to assess the progress that limited English proficient (LEP) students, also referred to as English learners (ELs), make in learning the English language. To view all English learner (EL) resources, visit the EL webpage.

TELPAS Alternate